First off, a while ago I wrote about hot toddies for the Burlington Free Press.  Woo.

More importantly, here is an awesome new drink I made on the spur of the moment today.   We drove 5 1/2 hours from Waterville, ME, and then I went and climbed (plastic) rocks, and then I made this drink.  I wanted a Raymond Chandler name, but nothing is coming to me right now.  It’s a really good drink.

[Pending]

  • 1 oz rye whiskey (new bottle of Bulleit’s)
  • 1 oz Manzanilla sherry (La Cosecha)
  • 1 oz Bonal
  • 2 dashes celery bitters
    Stir the whole mess with ice.  Pour it into a stemmed glass, then garnish it with a lemon peel.

I wanted something on the lighter side, and something that was more dry than sweet.  The bottle of rye I had picked up the week before was asking to be opened, and celery, rye, and sherry is a combination that’s always played nice for me before.  The Bonal was just to add some basic interest to the drink, and then ended up holding everything together.

Go on – buy yourself a drink from the office bar.