I just noticed that I seem to be capitalizing my titles somewhat erratically.  I apologize for the typographical confusion. I’ll try to be more consistent in the future.

A few days ago, we had a friend over for drinks who tends to like things a little sweeter and fruitier.  It’s probably good that I know her, since my tastes tend towards the bitter, sour, dry, and overly complex.  Whenever she comes over I pull out Beachbum Berry Remixed, and try something new.

This time I noticed the Pegleg Punch, which is portioned for 20.  It has the advantage, however, of being easily scalable, with none of the fiddly 1-2 oz measurements that make scaling things like the Regent’s Punch so difficult.  It also, perhaps more importantly, has aquavit and grapefruit.  How could I resist?

Pegleg Punch (Beachbum Berry Remixed)

  • 30 oz vodka (6 oz Leblon cachaça)
  • 30 oz grapefruit juice (6 oz grapefruit juice)
  • 15 oz aquavit (3 oz House Krogstad aquavit)
  • 10 oz lemon juice (2 oz lemon juice)
  • 7.5 oz orgeat (2 oz orgeat)
  • 5 oz simple syrup (1/2 oz simple syrup)
  • handful fresh mint leaves
  • handful thin lemon slices
    In a small punch bowl (or large mixing glass), combine all liquid ingredients without ice.  Stir to mix.  Add ice to fill.  Stir in mint leaves and lemon slices, gently.  Pour small quantities as needed.  My scaled version will serve 2-4.

Alright, so I didn’t use vodka.  Obviously if it’s pirate juice, it needs some sugar-cane derivative.  Cachaça seemed appropriately light-bodied, and, as it happened, its grassiness, just like that of tequila, paired excellently with the grapefruit juice.  Altogether a highly enjoyable drink; in the end it strongly reminded me of a complicated Japanese Cocktail.  The big slug of orgeat really brought that to the forefront.

As a side note, this turned out to be just as good as a big bowl of punch for socializing.  Something about everyone drinking the same drink, having to pace yourself so that you don’t finish it first, really helps calibrate the old social instincts.  And, unlike a pitcher of Martinis, you don’t have to feel guilty as you watch the ice slowly disappear and the water level rise.