I’ve mentioned the Toronto a few times as one of my favorite drinks, so it’s funny that I haven’t posted an actual recipe.  Silly me; let’s remedy that.

Toronto (from memory)

  • 2 oz American whiskey (Redemption Rye)
  • 1/2 oz Fernet Branca
  • 1/4-1/2 oz simple syrup
  • 2 dashes Angostura Bitters
    Stir with ice, strain into cocktail glass, garnish with an orange twist.

I have to admit I am slightly tired of writing about brown drinks, but I never get tired of drinking them.  The Toronto is extra special, since it’s much more of an aperitif than a Manhattan relative usually is, especially if you cut the syrup down to a quarter ounce, as I tend to do.  Rather than being sweet, warm, and comforting, the Toronto serves as a pedestal for Fernet Branca, taming its bitter notes without obscuring them.  Instead, the whiskey provides a scaffolding to help stretch out and make enjoyable that intense complexity.  One could even make a half recipe without any sugar, chilled intensely, for a real stomach-(and eye-)opener.