In exciting sample news, Vision Vodka asked if I would review and publicize their product.  Since I don’t drink that much vodka, all I can say is that it tasted appropriately flavorless, which I understand is the distinguishing characteristic of a fine vodka.  Should anyone be looking for a vodka, why not choose Vision?  Vision, for the good times.

It is nice to have vodka around, however, to make those few drinks I never get around to.  One of these is David Wondrich’s Firebird Cocktail, from Killer Cocktails, which I understand was made to honor a choreographer whose name I cannot at the moment remember.

Firebird Cocktail (Killer Cocktails)

  • 1 1/2 oz vodka (Vision)
  • 1/2 oz cognac (Bache Gabrielsen Fine)
  • 1/2 oz kümmel (sub Krogstad Aquavit + simple syrup)
  • 1/2 oz lemon juice
  • 1/2 barspoon grenadine
    Shake all ingredients with ice, strain into a cocktail glass, garnish with a lemon twist.

As The Wife mentioned, this is why people drink vodka.  Easy to forget how much liquor is in this thing.  This was a very drinkable sour, mild and fresh.  Honestly, I’m glad I used the Krogstad instead of the Stock kümmel I have on the back bar, because it added enough caraway and anise to take over the cocktail and turn it into a mild Aquavit Sour.  Since I only like clear liquor Sours (or Daisies), this really hit the spot.  The Vision performed admirably by really vanishing into the background.  Altogether a not unpleasant use for the rare vodka we have on the bar.

I also suspect that Vision will perform admirably in my future horseradish-infused vodka plans.  Updates as they come!