I’ve written about Smashes plenty before (actually, I was surprised to find so few posts on the subject; I make them all the damn time), so I don’t need to talk them up that much here.  My parents bought me a nice bottle of Tuthilltown Roggen’s Rum, which does not appear to be on their website.  It’s a molasses rum, but it strikes me as most in the mold of a Demerara.  The brandy-ish notes which make it appealing recommended it for a Smash.

Rum Smash

  • 2 oz dark rum (Tuthilltown Roggen’s Rum)
  • 1-2 barspoons simple syrup
  • 5-7 mint leaves
    Combine the rum, syrup, and all but one of the mint leaves in a shaker.  Shake gently with ice – you want to avoid over-crushing the mint, which makes the drink bitter.  Strain into a cocktail glass, garnish with the last mint leaf.

The Wife is a huge fan of Smashes, demanding them constantly whenever we have mint in the house.  I like them too, so it’s not really much of an imposition.  A Smash is a great spirit-forward drink without being overpowering; the mint refreshes the palate on each sip, making it (far too) easy to drink quickly.