The folks behind Blackbeard Rum (they don’t currently have a product website up, but Blackbeard is produced by Destileria Serrallés, who make DonQ Rum) sent me a bottle for review.  Spiced rum is the new hot thing these days, and obviously there’s room for one more.  Blackbeard is perfectly palatable; it’s got a relatively light rum base and a strong vanilla flavor, but besides a mild orange note I’m hard-pressed to find the warm spices I usually expect from a spiced rum.  Still, it’s leagues (I was going to say light years, but then I remembered that it was rum, so I’d better be nautical) beyond the nastiness of Captain Morgan and its brethren.

But how does Blackbeard perform in a cocktail?  I’ve had the Ward 2010 on my to-drink list for ages.  It seemed like a good place to take a spiced rum for a spin.

Ward 2010 (SLOSHED!):

  • 2 oz spiced rum (Blackbeard)
  • 3/4 oz maraschino liqueuer (Maraska)
  • 1 oz tangerine juice
  • 1/2 oz Meyer lemon juice
  • 2 dashes Peychaud’s Bitters (The Bitter Truth Creole Bitters)
    Shake with ice, strain into cocktail glass, garnish with brandied cherry.

I like the Tiki-meets-classic vibe of the Ward 2010, but it didn’t have the memorable simplicity – and the slap-in-the-face asperity – of the original.  I decided to drop the Meyer lemon because it’s hard to find them in Burlington, and because the tangerine provided more than enough floral notes.  Given the abundance of sweetness in the drink, I thought a normal, tarter lemon would even it out a bit.  Tasty, but no classic.

The Blackbeard performed adequately in the cocktail, but the spice notes I failed to notice in a straight tasting didn’t make themselves known in a mix.  Still, at that price-point, you could do worse.  Personally, I’m not going to become a Blackbeard man, but there’s no shame in drinking it.  Arr, and so forth.

As should be clear, this post was made possible by the generous provision of both yo-ho and a bottle of rum by savvy marketers.  Information about my sample policy can be found on the About page.