I’m, as I may have mentioned, one of those people who is all about the seasonality of food, so on.  Unfortunately (not really) the only bar worth patronizing in Burlington is the same, and so Cobble Hills have been off my menu since, oh, September.  To my delight, the class that I’m TAing was learning to batonnade cucumbers, and I was asked if I wanted the leftover cucumbers.  I decided it was like dumpster-diving without the tetanus, and so I have a cucumber in January.

Unfortunately, I don’t have Amaro Montenegro.  Just one of those oversights that I am working to correct.  No problem, I thought.  I’ll just wing it.  This is the result.

Cobble Hillish (originalish):

  • 1 1/2 oz rye (Old Potrero 18th-Century)
  • 3/4 oz dry vermouth (Dolin)
  • 1/2 oz Amaro Flora di Monteoliveto
  • 1/4 oz Licor 43
  • 2 dashes celery bitters
  • 3 slices cucumber
    Combine liquid ingredients and 2 slices of cucumber in a stirring glass.  Stir vigorously with ice (do not muddle).  Strain into a cocktail glass, garnish with remaining slice cucumber.

So.  This was… not bad.  Honestly.  My thinking was that Amaro Montenegro is a mild, vanilla, citrus, and spice amaro, and so combining a more aggressive amaro (a gift from The Brother on his Italian ramblings) with the intensely vanilla and citrus Licor 43 would give the desired results.  I upped the vermouth and liqueur amounts because the Old Potrero is goddamn 62.5% abv.  Even so, this was spicy and way more aggressive than an actual Cobble Hill.  Drinkable?  Yes.  Memorable?  Maybe not.

The moral to this story, of course, is to always have Amaro Montenegro on hand.  Always.