Once again I find myself behind.

Gran Classico Negroni (original):

  • 1 1/2 oz gin (Tanqueray)
  • 3/4 oz Gran Classico
  • 3/4 oz white vermouth (Dolin Blanc)
  • 2 dashes grapefruit bitters (Scrappy’s)
    Stir with ice, strain into rocks glass, garnish with a long orange twist.

On Thursday I really felt like a Negroni, but I discovered that we had run out of Campari about a week before.  Gran Classico was the closest thing available (well, technically Cynar may be closer, but I decided I wanted a fruity bitter drink), so I decided to try that again.  I’d made Gran Classico Negronis in the past, but its very strong candied/cooked orange aroma is a little off-putting in the classic formulation.  I decided that white vermouth would help limit that aspect of the liqueur, and that some grapefruit bitters would restore balance.  This worked, but only tolerably well.  This is tasty, but the original is still superior.

Martini (uncounted original recipe):

  • 2 oz gin (Plymouth)
  • 1 oz dry vermouth (Dolin)
  • 2 dashes lemon bitters (The Bitter Truth)
    Stir with ice, strain into cocktail glass, garnish with a lemon peel.

The Gran Classico dominated the gin in the Negroni too much to satisfy me.  A Martini, therefore, presented itself as the logical next drink.  I wanted a bittered Martini, but orange bitters seemed to done to me, so I tried out the lemon bitters I don’t use nearly enough.  Quite tasty.