Another day (too long past for this update to be timely, I’m afraid), another couple of drinks.  Luckily, these continue the actually-good-drink streak from last post.

The Luigi (Cocktail Virgin Slut):

  • 1 oz dry gin (Tanqueray)
  • 1 oz dry vermouth (Dolin)
  • 1 oz tangerine juice
  • 1 barspoon Cointreau
  • 1 barspoon grenadine (homemade raspberry syrup)
  • 1 dash orange bitters (The Bitter Truth)
    Shake with ice, strain into cocktail glass.

I’m not original in this opinion, as Frederic’s comments will confirm, but the Luigi, clearly cousin to a Bronx, turns out much better than that conceptually pleasing but difficult to execute cocktail.  The Bronx tends to get flabby from the middle to the end, starting out promisingly citrus and juniper and ending in a sort of watery, herbal muddle from the mix of vermouth.  I took the liberty of punching up the amount of Cointreau in the Luigi, as well as adding a Bronx-y dash of orange bitters.  This ended up delightful, sophisticated and light, with a lovely floral complexity from the tangerine (really, satsuma) juice.

Greenpoint (Oh Gosh!):

  • 2 oz rye whiskey (Redemption)
  • 1/2 oz sweet vermouth (Dolin)
  • 1/2 oz Yellow Chartreuse
  • 1 dash orange bitters (Bitter Truth)
  • 1 dash Angostura bitters
    Stir with ice, strain into cocktail glass, garnish with a lemon orange twist.

I may have mentioned the Greenpoint before (hey, I did!), but this is the first time I’ve actually made it properly.  As I mentioned in the last post, I’ve been enjoying my Yellow Chartreuse to an unreasonable extent, and I believe I’ve always made the Greenpoint with the, well, Green Chartreuse, which makes a sharp, herbal, almost digestif-style drink.  With the Yellow, the Greenpoint becomes a luxurious, buttery Manhattan.  This might almost beat out a Cobble Hill (recipe once cucumbers are back in season) as my favorite Borough cocktail.  Well, it might, but it probably won’t, as anyone with me at the Passenger in late December will attest.  I really hope they put that drink on the menu some day.