This is the last drink from the most recent Imbibe magazine, and I have to say they’ve mostly been rather disappointing.  This one was halfway decent, but still not something I’m eager to repeat.  Luckily, since I write these a couple days after the fact, I can confidently predict that in the near future I’ll drink some better cocktails.

Peralta (Imbibe magazine):

  • 3/4 oz rye whiskey (Old Potrero 18th-Century)
  • 3/4 oz Cynar
  • 3/4 oz Yellow Chartreuse
  • 1/2 oz grapefruit juice
  • 1/4 oz lemon juice
  • 1 dash Angostura bitters
    Shake with ice, strain into a cocktail glass.

This seemed like a potentially neat Hoop La!/Last Word variation, and as I mentioned, I really like the pairing of grapefruit and rye.  With the relatively small amount of rye, I thought it was a safe place to try some of the Old Potrero 18th-Century, but, alas, this may have been a mistake.  The drink ended up somewhat rye dominated, with a disappointing malty taste that obliterated the botanicals from the Chartreuse and the Cynar.  Not unpleasant, but certainly not a complex masterpiece like the Last Word (is thought to be, that is – I myself am only passingly fond of that particular drink).

I think I may end up re-attempting the grapefruit-take on the Last Word, possibly switching to genever and an alpine liqueur, and leaving the grapefruit (obviously) and the Yellow Chartreuse.  This might make me a cocktail failure, but I enjoy the Yellow more than the Green.  Call me a sucker for saffron.