Pegu Club (Vintage Spirits and others):

  • 1 1/2 oz gin (Plymouth)
  • 3/4 oz lime juice
  • 1/2 oz Cointreau
  • 2-3 dashes Angostura bitters
    Shake with ice, strain into cocktail glass.

There is very little to say about this venerable recipe that has not been said better, by others.  For some reason this one ended up tasting rather light on the bitters to me.  It also lacked the characteristic orange hue that my Pegu Clubs usually have – I suspect The Girlfriend has a lighter hand with the bitters.

It’s been years since I’ve had one of these; I believe the Pegu Club was one of my first real classic cocktail experiments, since its similarity to a White Lady guaranteed palatability.  In fact, I remember getting into a rather heated argument at the bar of New Heights, way back in 2008, with one of the owners of Proof over whether the Pegu Club is properly made with lemon or lime, and whether it should be a classic 3:2:1 daisy ratio or drier, like an Aviation.  Since his bar, at the time, seemed to be using Magellan gin (worst. bluest. gin. ever.) to make his Aviations blue (and overly sweet), I felt rather satisfied to be able to give him a quick lesson on proper cocktail making.  The recipe above should give complete satisfaction.

Both Indies (Killer Cocktails):

  • 2 oz dark, funky rum (3/1 El Dorado 8-Year/Smith & Cross)
  • 3/4 oz lemon juice
  • 1/2 oz Velvet Falernum
  • 1/4 oz Curacao (Señor Curacao)
  • 2 dashes Angostura bitters
    Shake everything but the bitters with ice, strain into cocktail glass, dash bitters over the drink.

The original recipe for this drink calls for Inner Circle 115-proof rum, something I’ve never managed to get my hands on.  Since it’s described as a dark, funky rum, I figured something sweet and spicy, like the El Dorado 8 could be doctored with some Smith & Cross to approximate it.  I have to admit that I’m not up to using Smith & Cross as a base liquor, uncut.  I love it, but that stuff is strong.

This was decent, but unexciting.  It’s a recipe I’ve passed over many times, for lack of the Inner Circle, but I was feeling in a rum mood, and I wanted something citrus-y but not tiki.  The falernum kind of got lost in the back of this, sadly, even after I doctored it up with some clove bitters.  I think I need to make my own if I want it to be a stand-out ingredient.  Without that, this was basically a Cable Car.  More The Girlfriend’s type of drink than mine.