The Girlfriend mentioned that we hadn’t had a gin drink in a while, despite my brilliant K-12.  I think what she meant was “a drink that tastes mostly like gin”.  Well, I’m nothing if not game for that.

Palm Beach (Vintage Spirits):

  • 2 1/2 oz gin (Plymouth)
  • 3/4 oz grapefruit juice
  • 1/2 oz dry vermouth (Dolin)
    Shake with ice, strain into cocktail glasses.

A nice, simple, gin drink.  This time we had grapefruit from Texas, which seemed to lack the usual oomph, leaving this mostly dominated by the gin.  Still tasty.

Given how simple this drink is, let me enliven this post with an anecdote from my daily life.  Today I gazed full on into the dark abyss at the heart of modern anthropology: “The concept of knowing is becoming increasingly popular across academic disciplines,” writes Sarah Pink, in Doing Sensory Ethnography.  And here I had thought that we had “known” things since at least the late 1800s.  Silly me.  Luckily, Ms. Pink wrote this sentence not more than 35 pages into the book, saving me a lot of time that I would otherwise have spent untangling immanent ontologies from transcendent phenomenologies.  There was a happy ending after all!