Cameron’s Kick (Killer Cocktail’s recipe):

  • 1 oz blended scotch (Famous Grouse)
  • 1 oz Irish whiskey (Redbreast)
  • 1/2 oz lemon juice
  • 1/2 oz orgeat
    Shake with ice, strain into a cocktail wine glass, garnish with a brandied cherry.

Normally I really don’t like sours or daisies with wood-aged liquors.  Something about the wood-derived flavors – caramel, vanilla, coconut – combined with the lemon juice just bugs me.  I’m only a big conceptual fan of the Sidecar; I much prefer the Olympic, which subs orange juice for the lemon juice and somehow sidesteps that problem for me.  It’s obviously a matter of personal taste, since some of the best drinks in the world play up that particular flavor combo.

Anyhow, the Cameron’s Kick is an oddball sour that totally does it for me.  Oddball because it uses two whiskeys, both of which are mixological outcasts, in one drink.  I think the cocktail works for me because both of these whiskeys are much less woody than brandy or American whiskeys.  The orgeat adds a bit of plushness that you almost never see in the rare scotch cocktail: a weird sort of gorse and frippery.  I always forget how much I enjoy these until I actually make one.  Maybe this will help me remember to make it more often.