Update: Terrible picture added!

Ladies and gentlemen, it’s time once again for that most hallowed of interweb-based traditions, Mixology Monday!  Our gracious host this month, bellying up to the bar, as it were, after a long holiday’s binge, is Frederic, of the provocatively named Cocktail VirginSlut.  The theme this month is “Tea”, which is pretty self-explanatory, although it does offer the temptation, after so much holiday imbibery, of merely suggesting a cup of chamomile and an early bedtime.  But we here on the frontier of mixology are made of tougher stuff!  Not for us are these “non-alcoholic” beverages, drunk by milksops and kerchief-wringing nincompoops!

As you may be able to imagine, it’s somewhat late, and I’m actually filing this dispatch to the front lines of MxMo after writing an article on margaritas for one site and an article on Welsh Rarebit for another, so I’m a little punchdrunk.  I’m also posting this entry sans pictures until the morning, at which point I will make and probably drink this cocktail at 7 AM, in order to get this entry in under the MxMo wire (haha just kidding mom and dad, please don’t yell at me).  Thanks for encouraging my bad habits, MxMo!  You’re the best.  And also because a post without a picture is pretty damn boring looking.

I decided to punish (get it?!) everyone with the title of my entry.  The Tea Killer Mockingbird is probably the worst-named cocktail ever, but, to be honest, The Tequila Mockingbird is not all that much better.  As there’s no real consistency among the so-called drinks entitled “Tequila Mockingbird” (although the lemon, tequila, and creme de menthe version sounds possible), I’ve decided just to strike out on my own here, and we’ll see how this ends up.

Tea Killer Mockingbird

  • 2 oz reposado tequila
  • 1/4 oz cinnamon simple syrup
  • 1/4 oz chai tea (the leaves, not the brewed product)
  • 1-2 dashes Bittermens Xocolatl bitters
    Coat a cocktail glass with the bitters, discarding any extra.  In a shaker, combine remaining ingredients with ice and shake well (yes, shake) for at least 30 seconds.  Strain through a fine mesh into the coated glass, garnish with a flamed orange peel.

Ok, so this is just a variation of a Tea Smash.  But I think the warm spices, especially the cardamom, combined with the bite of the bitters and the smokiness of the tequila give it a special twist.  As Gandhi said, “When East meets West, it’s deadly.”

I’ve now typed “Tea Killer Mockingbird” more times than I am comfortable with (read: even once).  The only consolation I have is that, when Frederic goes to compile the MxMo entries, he’s gonna have to do it at least once.  Point: me.

Pictures in the morning.