After an unreasonably long period of not being that time, it is in fact time for the interweb’s most delayed cocktail event: Mixology Monday, hosted this round by the blog with the admirably dipsomaniacal title: Beers in the Shower.  The theme this month is Money Drinks, which is, well, let’s let Kevin explain it:

I feel a “Money” drink is something you can put in front of anyone, regardless of tastes or distastes about the spirits involved. Come up with a drink or a list based on spirits about drinks that would appeal to anyone. example: turning someone onto a Corpse Reviver #2 when they like lemon drops.

For those of us with access to top shelf spirits, Make an upscale twist on a classic [link added because awesome].

So yeah.  I admit my entry this month is maybe not the strongest, because I’m feeling ill and groggy, and so I’m going to reuse a classic that I’m sure most cocktailians have tried at least once (although I do get to take credit for getting it onto the permanent drink menu at a local restaurant).  I’d like to bring to the table tonight the Widow’s Kiss.

The Widow’s Kiss

  • 1 1/2 oz Calvados (Ted Haigh says only Calvados, not applejack or apple brandy)
  • 3/4 oz Chartreuse (Green is original, but Yellow is gentler; to fulfill the second “money drink” requirement, use VEP Chartreuse)
  • 3/4 oz Benedictine (this is a drink where, surprisingly, B&B (blech) is an acceptable substitute)
  • 2 dashes Angostura bitters
    Stir all ingredients with ice.  Strain into a cocktail glass and garnish with a brandied cherry.

Both Benedictine and Chartreuse are what I would call “problem” ingredients.  Tasted by themselves they are overwhelming, especially Chartreuse.  Not what you want to spring on someone, unawares.  I would argue that the Widow’s Kiss is a “money drink” if there ever were one, for wrapping these difficult ingredients into a drink that somehow tastes mostly of spiced honey and the warm, slightly stuffy attic of some archetypal grandmother, comfortable and headachey, with surprises hidden around every corner.

Again, I apologize for the barebones and lazy entry.  But the Widow’s Kiss is really remarkable, and worth a try for anyone who suspects they might not like any of its components.  And all of its ingredients are upwards of $30 so, c’mon, give me a little slack here.