All right, everyone, it’s time for the interbijit’s most insomniacal, cooperative cocktail event: Mixology Monday!  The time is 3:37 AM Central US Time, which makes it a time when I should not be awake.  But alas.  Enough about my troubles, you want to hear about Felicia’s Speakeasy, and her diabolical theme for this month’s challenge: “Vodka is your friend”.  I disagree.  Nevertheless, I am totally going to play along because it is 3 AM, what else am I going to do?

My entry for this month is based on that most classic of cocktail cliches, the Churchill Martini.  While the quote is almost certainly apocryphal (at least, I can’t really find the energy to track down an authoritative source), Churchill is usually credited with coming up with “letting the shadow of the vermouth bottle fall across the mixing glass”, or “observing the bottle of vermouth carefully from across the room”.  While clever (the first hundred times you hear them), these don’t really make for a good Martini.  I think I’ve come up with a superior recipe.  A British (and, thus, gin) man, Churchill would almost certainly not have had any truck with a Vodka Martini (although as an inveterate drunk he may well have tolerated it), which is why it may surprise you to know that my drink is a

Churchill Vodka Martini

  • 1 1/2 oz gin (why not use Plymouth?)
  • 1 1/2 oz French vermouth (the new Noilly Prat is highly enjoyable!)
  • 1 bottle fine vodka (go ahead, splurge, use [#FASHIONABLEVODKA])
  • 2 dashes orange bitters (Angostura is my current brand)
    Combine gin, vermouth, bitters, and ice in a mixing glass.  Stir until very cold, all the while glaring at the bottle of vodka and wishing it would go back to Siberia.  Strain into a cocktail glass.  Serve with a lemon twist, olive, or both.

Do you see what I did there?

Disclaimer: In all seriousness, I don’t mean to rain on a thoroughly excellent MxMo theme.  I hope that this gives people a chuckle, rather than the impression that I’m trying to be overly snobby (che ironico).  But I own no vodka, and, having just placed a large order with Cocktail Kingdom (holy crap guys they actually carry the Bitter Truth (!!!)) I do not have the money to purchase any at this juncture.  And I do hate being left out of MxMo.  So, there you have it.  My current favorite drink to make with vodka.