I know that I said I would do this every month, but, well, January’s drink menu kind of didn’t really take off, and then February’s kind of didn’t… exist, and it took me until the middle of March to put this one together.  But, on the plus side, it’s a really good one.  One drink in particular, the Highland Cooler, is an invention that I’m proud enough of to dedicate an entire post (later) to exact proportions and the warm fuzzy feelings I get from drinking it.

March 2009

BEDFORD
rye, red dubonnet, cointreau, orange bitters
orange peel

MONTE CARLO
rye, benedictine, peychaud’s bitters
brandied cherry

SALTY POODLE
tequila, cointreau, lime juice, grapefruit juice, falernum, creme de cassis
salt rim

CLOVER CLUB
gin, raspberry syrup, lemon juice, egg white
lemon twist

DOCTOR COCKTAIL
rum, swedish punsch, lime
nutmeg

SOUR CHERRY BLOSSOM
armagnac, cherry heering, lemon
brandied cherries

HIGHLAND COOLER
scotch, lemon juice, sugar, ginger, cherry heering, angostura bitters, soda
shaved ginger

AMERICANO
cynar, sweet vermouth, soda
orange wheel

A couple of these drinks – the Sour Cherry Blossom and Salty Poodle – came from Absinthe by Jeff Hollinger and Rob Schwartz.  They are both delicious, although, as you can imagine, the Salty Poodle is a little labor-intensive.  Both the Monte Carlo and the Bedford are Manhattan variations (because we ran low on sweet vermouth), and, of the two, I prefer the Monte Carlo.

I think I’m coming down with a cold, so ’nuff said.  Time for a Doctor Cocktail.