I’ll admit that the Cocktail Virgin Slut‘s promiscuous posting is both a huge inspiration (what an update schedule!) and a great source of interesting cocktails.  It’s a real struggle to not spend all my time just reposting. Frederic’s (and, through him, Boston’s) cocktails.  So here are three that I’ve had bookmarked for sampling for a while, and have made appearances on my bar in the last week.

Johan Goes to Mexico (Cocktail Virgin Slut):

  • 1 1/2 ozmezcal (Del Maguey San Luis del Rio)
  • 1/2 oz lemon juice
  • 1/2 oz simple syrup
  • 1/2 oz Angostura bitters
    Shake with ice, strain into cocktail glass.

I’m a huge fan of both the Angostura and Trinidad Sours, so I was eager to try yet another Angostura heavy sour.  I think this suffered from not letting the bitters be the primary ingredient; mezcal is more than tough enough to hold its own, so I think it’d be more interesting to, for example, sub the mezcal for the rye in the Trinidad Sour, and perhaps switch the orgeat for some pineapple or maple syrup (the caramel-y furanones in both pineapples and maple syrup play real nice with mezcal).  An idea for a future cocktail!  The awkwardly named Johan Goes to Mexico was still tasty, though.  Nothing wrong with it that couldn’t be fixed by totally rebalancing the cocktail.

Dover (Cocktail Virgin Slut):

  • 3/4 oz dry gin (Tanqueray)
  • 3/4 oz triple sec (Cointreau)
  • 3/4 oz Cocchi Americano
  • 3/4 oz lime juice
    Shake with ice, strain into cocktail glass.

 

On Monday The Girlfriend suggested a White Lady, but my general reluctance to make something I’ve ever had before led me to suggest the Dover.  The Dover is in truth more closely related to a Hoop La, 20th-Century, or Corpse Reviver #2, but it seemed like it would neatly take care of our gin-citrus yen.  In fact, I found the Dover to be a delightful alternative.  The pine (assorted terpenes) notes in the lime provided an extra complexity and dryness that I might actually prefer to the aforementioned cocktails.  Very worthwhile.

Wardman Park (Cocktail Virgin Slut):

  • 1 1/2 oz dry sherry (Lustau Oloroso)
  • 1/2 oz brandy (Bache Gabrielsen Fine Cognac)
  • 1/2 oz Drambuie
    Stir with ice, strain into cocktail glass, garnish with cherry.

I’ve been waiting to make the Wardman Park ever since I first read about it, because, well, this is where we used to live.  First I had to get Drambuie.  Got that about three weeks ago.  Then, I had to actually get some mixing brandy (the last of my Presidente went into a quart of brandied cherries).  There was no way that I was going to use my single-estate Chateau de Beaulon on a random drink.  My latest order from DrinkUpNY finally got here, and included was a bottle of Bache Gabrielsen Fine, at $23.99 the best-selling cognac in Norway!  This, this was the right brandy to make this drink with.

Luckily, the Wardman Park was not a waste of this fine spirit (in all seriousness it’s quite nice for a cheap cognac).  I was surprised, as Drambuie is usually a dominating flavor, but the sherry and cognac combine to give this a strong grape note, followed by the sherry’s caramel and, finally, the Drambuie’s spice.  I was surprised by how far in the background the Drambuie remained.  In the future I might (gasp) follow the actual recipe, and try it with a dry (maybe Manzanilla?) sherry, in order to give the Drambuie a little more space.