I was going to come up with something clever about the return of MxMo as the seasons turn but, you know, it’s just not working for me.  So welcome to the interweb’s least cleverly introduced drink event, Mixology Monday XLII, with this month’s host, the eGullet gang, offering up the “Dizzy Dairy” theme.

To tell the truth, this is not a MxMo I’ve been looking forward to.  I’m allergic to cow’s milk, and so, aside from fizzes and flips, I’m mostly left out of the fun.  Sure, a Goat’s-Milk Punch would be cool, but I don’t really have a good source for it and, while I like the taste of goat’s milk more than the average person, I don’t really feel that it would play well with any alcohol I can think of.  I’m sticking to eggs this time.

Caribbean Eggnog

Caribbean Eggnog

  • 1 1/2 oz Jamaican Rum (I used Appleton V/X)
  • 1/4 oz Pimento Dram (Homemade)
  • 1/4 oz Domaine de Canton (Jamaican Ginger (hah, right) or Stone’s would be just fine)
  • 2 dashes Angostura bitters
  • 1 egg yolk
    Combine all ingredients in a shaker without ice.  Shake “dry” for 15-30 seconds, then add ice and shake until well-chilled.  Strain and dust top with cayenne pepper.

I mostly made this drink up because, to be honest, I am thoroughly unimpressed with Domaine de Canton and want to get it off my bar.  I would go so far as to say that it is less ginger-y than the charmingly-named Stone’s Original Green Ginger Wine (how Dickensian!).  It is also significantly more expensive.  While it is very nice taken straight, the Domaine de Canton seems to fade into the background in many cocktails.  So I figured I would beef it up with some allspice and set it loose in a drink where it’s significant sweetness would be advantageous.

Flips are some of my very favorite after-dinner cocktails, and this is essentially a spiced-up version of a Thunder Cocktail (which Erik Flannestad hasn’t gotten to yet, but I’m sure he’ll enjoy).  If you switched in nutmeg for the cayenne, it would be very similar to a streamlined Eggnog.  I have to admit that this isn’t really the coolest thing ever done with dairy in a cocktail-context, but I’m already a little dyspeptic this weekend, so it’s gonna have to be this.

