So, to be honest, I pretty much started this blog to participate in Mixology Monday.  Why?  I’m thinking my reasons lie somewhere in-between a desperate bid for validation and, um, something that is less pathetic!  Woo.  Anyway, I am all kinds of excited, and hope my drink is cool enough!

This month’s theme is Spice, which, because I am busy with all kinds of finals, I will answer with one of my girlfriend’s favorite cocktails, the Flipjack, something I’ve been making for a little more than a year, now.  It’s definitely a winter drink, so it’s appropriately seasonal, and it’s pretty spicy (both cayenne and cinnamon play starring roles).

To be completely honest, this drink is directly descended from the Mae West, but I have a tendency to try substituting Laird’s Bonded Apple Brandy anywhere I see brandy or calvados called for, just to see what happens.  It has a wonderful, robust taste that falls somewhere between calvados and bourbon, plus the added benefit of being 100 proof, which makes it stand up to strong-tasting or sweet ingredients a little better.  This makes it a little harder to work into summer drinks, but in the winter it’s a welcome bonus.   It was definitely a hit in this variation, as the apple flavor really comes through, and the woodiness is a welcome foil to the richness of the eggs.  The cinnamon syrup was lying around from my experiments with Minimalist Zombies (I will post that recipe someday, promise), and, honestly, what goes better than cinnamon and apples?

Finally, this drink is a great drink for parties, because a) it’s delicious and b) there are very few drinks (at least, that people are willing to try) that use egg yolks, so if you’re mixing with egg whites you’re going to either be wasting a lot of yolks or… making a lot of cakes?  I don’t know about that last one – my girlfriend is the dessert-maker in our house.  Anyway, next time you make someone a White Lady or classic Sour, you can make someone else a Flipjack, and I promise they’ll thank you for it.

Flipjack

  • 2 oz Laird’s Bonded Apple Brandy
  • 1/2 oz cinnamon syrup
  • 1 egg yolk
  • cayenne pepper
    Shake the first three ingredients with the revolutionary vigor of George Washington and the stoic endurance of Abraham Lincoln, two of Laird’s most famous customers, until frothy.  Strain into a chilled cocktail glass, and dust top with cayenne pepper.

This is clearly a dessert drink: it’s sweet, rich, and strong – the perfect thing to send you off to bed on a cold winter’s night.  The vegetal aroma of the cayenne, along with the spiciness, helps to offset the richness.  It’s definitely a drink that will turn people on to eggs, especially when you point out that it’s reall unlikely anything bad is surviving that 100 proof brandy.

As for the name… see, it’s like this.  It’s not exactly a Flip, but it’s not that far, and it’s made with something that, with a little creative license, you could call Applejack, so: Flipjack!  I am so clever.  Don’t blame me for the puns – it’s genetic.

